Sonmanbulism

sleepwalking1Originally Written: January  7, 2017

It’s a little after 4:00 a.m. and it’s snowing. I opened the front door and flicked on the outside light. It looks like the inside of a snow glob after a child carelessly shakes it up and down. How can anything be so beautiful? I’m sitting here in the office, an old afghan wrapped around my shoulders, and comfy socks on my feet. H puts them in my stocking every year. Beyond soft and warm, they are delicious.

I had another sleep incident on Thursday night, the worst one yet. A few years ago, I participated in one of those sleep studies. There were two slightly unusual events. My legs twitched uncontrollably a few times. The other event was a little more unusual. I moved during REM sleep. REM sleep is when you receive your deepest and most restful sleep, and it’s when you dream due to heightened brain activity. We are asleep about 90 minutes before we reach REM and must go through several stages of non-REM sleep to get there. Paralysis occurs during REM sleep. It’s a safety mechanism that prevents us from acting out our dreams. We could dream that we’re jumping off the roof to take a little fly about. Oops! You can see why it’s important that we can not move during REM.

On Thursday night, I dreamed that my friend Patsy and I were vacationing, and we found a place where we could, for a fee, go on a boat ride. They had two boats. One was a huge, double-decker affair and the other was a yacht. I was holding one of my Pyrex containers that was filled with fresh asparagus. They were beautiful. When we entered the place, a man told me he was going to have to charge me for my asparagus. I told him we were going to buy a ticket for a boat ride, and he said, “Well, maybe I won’t charge you for the asparagus.”

We bought our tickets ($145.00 each) and got in line. Patsy asked me how we were going to return. I said, “The boat will bring us back.” She told me that the boat would not bring us back. It was a one-way trip, it was about 100 miles away, and we would have to find our own transportation back. I said, “It’s too far to walk back, and too expensive to get a taxi, and we don’t have bikes. Maybe we should eat the price of the tickets and stay here. She agreed, and we got out of line and started for the door. The man appeared again, and asked where we were going. Patsy told him we were not going on the boat ride. He eyed my asparagus, and I realized he was going to take them from me. I took off with incredible speed for the door.

The next thing I knew:

I ran into the fan (I sleep with a fan even in winter). I knocked it over, and slammed into the antique marble-top dresser, shoving it back a couple of inches, dislodging the marble, and pushing it back an inch or so. Do you know how heavy marble is? I crashed my hands into one of the drawers, bumped my knee, and managed to hit my chin on the way down. H flew out of the bed. I was stunned. He put a blanket over me and a pillow under my head until we could assess the damage – to me, not the dresser.

I’m okay. My knuckles on my right hand are swollen, and they sting inside, but they’re feeling better. My knee is okay. My chin is sore, but nothing is broken. A while ago, the solution-oriented Jean of Misadventures of Widowhood suggested that a bed rail would be a good idea. At that point, I didn’t think this would continue. Obviously I was wrong. I found a bed rail that will flip down during the daytime so it isn’t visible. I like that. Thanks for the idea, Jean.

No more sleep-walking blog fodder.

It’s supposed to snow until this afternoon. Yesterday, I picked up some ground chuck and beans and tomatoes and spices to make chili. H actually makes it most of the time. I still can’t believe that he cooks now. It will be a quiet day at home. I know you guys up north don’t get excited about snow, but we don’t get it so often down here anymore. As long as the power stays on, I enjoy the quiet beauty of it because I know it will be gone in a day or two, and who knows when it will return?

Leave a Reply

