Breast Cancer Dream

A couple of nights ago, I dreamed I was diagnosed with breast cancer, and felt pretty sure that I was going to die. In the midst of the dream, I remember thinking objectively how ironic it would be if breast cancer turned out to be the thing to kill me instead of something heart-related. I woke remembering the mammogram reminders that had arrived on two separate occasions in my mailbox last month. I’d thought, oh, yes, it’s that time, and promptly tossed them in the trashcan in the computer room. My conscious mind may have forgotten, but my subconscious mind is on the ball. I guess it’s time to make an appointment.

When I searched the meaning of “breast cancer dreams,” to my surprise, I found that women have had breast cancer warning dreams.  They actually had warning dreams prior to diagnosis, and some women even revealed the exact location, and were then diagnosed. There are rare reports of breast cancer warning dreams in dream literature and even fewer in medical literature. So let’s not get crazy here, but still a little eerie.

There was a survey. Well, you knew there had to be.

The five most common characteristics of warning dreams in descending order of frequency reported in the survey were: a sense of conviction about the importance in 94%; the dreams were more vivid, real or intense than ordinary in 83%; an emotional sense of threat, menace or dread in 72%; the use of the specific words breast cancer/tumor in 44%; and the sense of physical contact with the breast in 39%.
Warning dreams of breast cancer were often reported to be life changing experiences that prompted medical attention leading directly to diagnosis. Further research needs to be done to determine the frequency of such dreams in women without known breast cancer in order to assess the predictive value of a warning dream. Source: Pub Med

Interpretation: dying

To dream of your own death indicates a transitional phase in your life. You are becoming more enlightened or spiritual. Alternatively, you are trying desperately to escape the demands of your daily life. Source: Dream Moods

That first sentence about becoming more “enlightened or spiritual” is more applicable to my life than the second. I’m not trying desperately to escape my life.

As for the “warning dream” interpretation: I did not have a strong  sense of dread, threat, or menace. So I’m not of the mindset that this was a warning dream… at all.

To answer your question: yes, I made my mammogram appointment.

Leave a Reply

